Final Recap: 114th Oregon Amateur Championship & 40th Oregon Senior Women's Amateur Championship

By Oregon Golf Association

114th Oregon Amateur Championship

After two rounds of stroke play and four days of grueling match play, our 114th Oregon Amateur Champions have been crowned. Zach Foushee defeated Jarred Gomez to win the men's title and Kyra Ly defeated Brady Turnquist to win the women's title.

Zach Foushee of Portland, Oregon was the last man standing of the 120 participants that qualified into the championship and never trailed in the championship match. He was 7 up after the morning and cruised to 10 up through 23 holes, ultimately closing the match on the 29th hole, winning 8 & 7. Foushee is no stranger to match play having played on the 2016 Oregon Men's Golf team that won the NCAA Championship at Eugene Country Club.

Kyra Ly also of Portland, Oregon took home the women's title after besting the field of 35 competitors. She held a narrow lead of 1 up after the opening 18 holes before turning it on during the second round, winning 7 of the 11 holes to close the match 8 & 7. Ly just completed her Freshman season playing for the Oregon State University Women's Golf with her best finish being a tie for 21st place at the NCAA Regionals. 

Both Foushee and Ly look forward to defending their titles at next year's 115th Oregon Amateur Championship at Oswego Lake Country Club from June 17-24, 2024.


Final Results:


4oth Oregon Senior Women's Amateur Championship

Lara Tennant was yet again the last women standing after the 40th Oregon Senior Women's Amateur Championship. The championship included 24 competitors and spanned one day of stroke play and four rounds of match play.

Her victory earned her a record seventh title (all consecutive) in the event, surpassing Joan Edwards-Powell's six victories (1997, 1998, 1999, 2006, 2008, 2009). Tennant's strong play and amazing consistency helped her only trail for one hole across all of the matches before ultimately defeating Loree McKay 4 & 3.

Tennant will look to continue her domination during next year's 41st Oregon Senior Women's Amateur Championship at Oswego Lake CC from June 19-22, 2024.

Flight winners were as follows:

Flight I: Ginny Burkey defeated Sandy Little, 5 & 3

Flight II: Sandy Day defeated Yon Okinaka, 5 & 3

Flight III: Bonnie Driggers defeated Mary Bartlett, 1 up


Final Results: